Second hand books


I had gone to MG Road on Saturday for a meet-up of the Bangalore Writing Club. After the meeting and some chit-chat at a CCD nearby I decided to roam around for a while.

While I was looking around I found a shop that sold second-hand books. I went in and bought a few books. They were all in very good condition and considerably cheaper than new copies.

These are the books I bought:

Lord Jim by Joseph Conrad

Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D.H. Lawrence

Faust (Part 1) by Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe

The Best of R.K. Laxman

The Island of Dr.Moreau by H.G.Wells

Pygmalion and Major Barbara by George Bernard Shaw

Un-read books are piling up in my cubicle now. My propensity for buying new books is getting ahead of my ability to finish reading them. Must make my reading more vigorous!

7 thoughts on “Second hand books

    • I know. But for some reason, I like to have physical copies of the books I read. If it weren’t for that then I would have a lot of other options including using the Kwench library which our company provides for free. Anyway, I know that getting a kindle is the clever thing to do. Thanks for the suggestion!

  1. Hey Sabu,

    Can you please share the name of bookstores. Can I call them, to check availability and price.

    Currently I buy used books online from http://www.madbooks.com.

    If I can get information on phone from these booksellers, I can compare the prices before buying books.

    Thanks

    • Thanks Minu! I maintain a list of books that I want to read on Goodreads. Whenever I decide to buy something I go ahead and get at least 5 of the titles on the list. In case you want to read any of the books on my Goodreads “Read” shelf, just ask me and I will lend it to you.

Leave a Reply

