A wish!


Jack Kerouac Reads On the Road

Jack Kerouac Reads On the Road (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I like to drive, travel to new places and experience new things. Last month I was reading this book called On The Road by Jack Kerouac. In my opinion, the criteria for a good author should be the amount of character in his writing and not just whether you like the style or not. You can have correct grammar, orthodox construction of sentences and follow all the rules of composition. But, still, these things alone can’t make you a good writer. What you write should have soul and people should be able to tell that it is a work of passion and love.

On the Road is one such book. As I was reading the book I realized that I was simply wasting my time. Instead of going out and traveling and having fun I was reading about what others had done. I too wanted to do it. I too wanted to go without a plan and  end up where the road takes me. I too wanted to feel the deep, throbbing excitement that comes from not knowing what to do or where to go next. I too wanted to use my brains and figure out how to make the best out of a situation!

I figured that I should probably round up some guys and go on a road trip. I had even arranged for a vehicle and a couple of friends.  But, a few of them pulled out and my parents  discouraged me from doing it. So, for now, the plan is on the back burner.

But, I haven’t completely let go of it yet. If any one is interested let me know and we can work on the plan together!

3 thoughts on “A wish!

  1. Why do you say ‘I too wanted ;…
    Shouldn’t you say “I too want ” … isn’t that the way ?I mean ,the wish is for the
    present and the future, isn’t it?

    • You decided to give me a taste of my own medicine!
      What you said would have been correct if I was talking about a book that I am reading now and about a desire that came into existence recently. But, most of the article is written in the past tense as it describes my thoughts at the time I was reading the book, which was some while ago.
      I am no expert on grammar, but, I think, “I too wanted…” is entirely temporally consistent with the rest of the para.
      Btw, I don’t really bother about grammar when I am writing on my blog. When I spot some mistakes later I edit them out. For example, just now, I changed “my parents also discouraged…” to “my parents discouraged” as “also” was inappropriate there. Anyway, feel free to discuss the quality of the language as I want to try and improve my English.

  2. Pingback: Inspiration: On The Road… | Mirth and Motivation

Leave a Reply

